Greater Accra

Welcome to Greater Accra, the Region that hosts the nation’s capital city and administrative hub


The Greater Accra Region contains 26 districts made up of two metropolitan, 19 municipal and 5 ordinary districts. The region has one of the lowest open defecation rates in the country – 6.6% as at 2014. However, due to its dense population, repercussions of open defecation are usually among the severest in the country especially during cholera outbreaks.

The region’s predominantly urban characteristics makes it almost impossible to implement the CLTS approach that is helping some other regions to eradicate open defecation very fast. However, as at May 2017, two of its rural districts – Ada East and Ada West – were reported to have been implementing the approach and 16 communities had already been declared ODF.

Number of ODF Communities
Number of Districts
Number of ODF Districts

District ODF Rates

Data on district level ODF rates in the Greater Accra Region is currently unavailable. However, as at May 2017, the Ada East and Ada West Regions reported eight ODF communities each. There is also no record of any inter-district ODF Leagues in the region.


Ablekuma North Municipal
Ablekuma West Municipal
Accra Metropolitan
Ada East District
Ada West District
Adenta Municipal
Ashaiman Municipal
Ayawaso East Municipal
Ayawaso North Municipal
Ayawaso West Municipal
Ga Central District
Ga East Municipal
Ga North Municipal
Ga South Municipal
Ga West Municipal
Kpone Katamanso Municipal
Krowor Municipal
La Dade Kotopon Municipal
La Nkwantanang Madina Municipal
Ledzokuku Municipal
Ningo Prampram District
Okaikwei Municipal
Shai Osudoku District
Tema Metropolitan
Tema West Municipal
Weija Municipal