Welcome to the Western Region, where the best of everything comes from; gold, timber, cocoa, oil, rivers, rain forests, what have you!

Regional ODF Brief

The Western Region of Ghana contains 22 districts made up of one metropolitan, two municipal and 19 ordinary districts. In 2014, a Ghana Statistical Service nationwide survey reported that the Region has 7.2% ODF rate, among the lowest in the country. There is, however, very scanty information on district and community level ODF rates in the region.

Global Communities and IDA are among the major basic sanitation promotion partners in the region. The region also does not publish any ODF league table.

Number of ODF Communities
Number of districts
Number of ODF districts


The Western Region does not publish any inter-district league table yet, and information on district level ODF rates are not readily available. The ODF Ghana Campaign Secretariat hopes to unearth this information soon.


Ahanta West District
Aowin/Suaman District
Bia West District
Bia East District
Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai District
Bodi District
Ellembele District
Jomoro District
Juaboso District
Mpohor District
Mpohor/Wassa East District
Nzema East Municipal District
Prestea-Huni Valley District
Sefwi Akontombra District
Sefwi Wiawso Municipal District
Sekondi Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly
Shama District
Suaman District
Tarkwa-Nsuaem Municipal District
Wasa Amenfi East District
Wasa Amenfi West District
Wassa Amenfi Central District